Portland,OR

Just returned from a wonderful time in Portland, OR. My husband Mike had business there and as he does once in a while, he paid my way and I was happy to tag along! Not only is Portland a favorite city for it’s green, lush, scenery but also for the great spirit of community and the young lively nightlife. Also, I have a dear cousin and a nephew that live there and it is always wonderful to get to see them and see the city from their perspective.

Port2

While Mike worked I managed to walk along the river walk near Willamette Park each morning, even on a gray day it was beautiful. I quickly found a favorite place for coffee each day at JoLa Cafe, and then covered the 3 to 4 miles into town.

Riverwalk

Cof

We had remarkable weather for our stay with tempreatures in the 80’s which made walking in the early morning really pleasant and comforatable. I found some favorite spots downtown for shopping and getting something to eat! Of course a trip anywhere is not complete unless I find the local yarn or fabric shop and Knit and Purl did not disappoint! The salesgirl directed me to my next favorite shop Blue Star Donuts, but I only allowed myself one visit there as it was deadly! knitandpurl

Coffee with Creme Brûlée Donut for Lunch

Coffee with Creme Brûlée Donut for Lunch

Another of her recommendations was the Jet Boat Ride on the Willamette River which we signed up for on Saturday morning. It was informative, and exciting and takes about two hours, but be prepared to get wet!!  Portland is famous for it great food and we wasted no time in finding a place that we loved so much we return the next day for lunch. If you are in Portland make sure you go to Olympia Provisions and treat yourself. There are two locations and we tried them both and preferred the one on Washington. (although it is hard to get into as they only have 11 tables)FavMeal

On Saturday we went down to Oak Grove to listen to my cousin Martin (Champ) Velez play congas with the salsa group Palante. They were fabulous and we had great fun meeting up with my nephew Oly and his wife Jarani.Palante

Sunday after a great pancake breakfast Champ made, Eileen and I walked to the local shops in the Albert Art District near their home. I purchased more yarn at Twisted her favorite shop and we walked around the small but charming nursery enjoying the plants.

Nursery

EileenandMe

Lastly we walked along some great street art!streetart2

streetart1

It was a wonderful trip, too short but not soon forgotten!

Coming soon a week in Lake Tahoe, stay tuned!

This entry was posted in Home. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

