Let’s talk about Change

0c28b39160f421b58f6ad59a1355e8fe1

 

It is said that change is the only constant in life! And yet we find it so had to do and NOT to do. As I contemplate all the changes I want to make in this next year I am reminded of all the changes that I have already chosen to make. It’s a good thing. But history repeats itself, as we well know from the current state of affairs in our world and the question always remains, “Why are we not learning from the lessons and mistakes  of the past?” I can only attempt to answer this question for myself personally. Change requires consistent practice!

My first intention with sharing these posts with you is that I might remember my purpose in setting, yet again, the intention of dropping the weight. But really it’s far more than that, it’s asking myself;

What do I really want?

Do I really think it’s possible?

Can I set realistic goals that keep me moving and feeling and living like I really mean it?

I believe the answer to all of these questions is a resounding YES!

My second intention is that you might also find it helpful to ask the same questions about whatever you are finding difficult to change in your life.

For me it’s all about food. You would have thought that I could have figured this out years ago but one of the things we humans are so expert at is avoiding uncomfortable emotions. So, first on my list of changes is to BREATHE and to FEEL and stop numbing myself with food. Find my proper relationship with it. Somehow along my journey food/emotions/comfort/control all got intangled together. But on the other hand food is such a life- giving, pleasure filled, sustenence to be enjoyed! Our culture teaches us to celebrate with food!  From an early age we ARE comforted or rewarded with food, we gather around the table for intimate family occasions and share in the abundance…etc. Food is not just about sustenance but so much more! It’s time to put things into perspective and set some boundaries.

I will take a new track this time around and follow the advice of Socrates,

“The secret of change is to focus all of your energy not on fighting the old, but on building the new.”

This entry was posted in Home. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Let’s talk about Change

  1. Doug Denton says:

    I concur with everything Kathy said. You are an inspiration. When I read this I realize just how much Mary Lee and I miss you and everyone in Sedona that have touched our hearts and soles.

  2. kathy levin says:

    YOU are an inspiration to me! After reading this beautiful introspective blog, I nominate you and Robin to be my life coaches here on out. You both have so much to teach and are never afraid of sharing and then working on the personal challenges in your lives.

  3. Myrna says:

    The Focus is what CAN I eat, not what CAN’T I eat….
    easier said than done…

    • nildarcook says:

      Also where and when and in what quanities?!
      A piece of birthday cake on your birthday, no big deal…a piece of birthday cake for breakfast…might need so rethinking 🙂

  4. nildarcook says:

    As always I love knowing you are part of my journey where ever I roam 🙂 I will call you TODAY!!

  5. Sara Rubin says:

    Well said my friend ! I love reading your blog and I am so inspired to do more myself. Thank you, thank you, thank you !

Leave a Reply

