Back in San Clemente

Today make a week that I have been back in San Clemente at the Sieger’s  home. It has been a great week! The weather in Sedona has been in the 100’s and unbearable. It seems to keep getting hotter each summer now.  Here I have overcast mornings and then mild to hot afternoons but always with a nice ocean breeze to cool things off. Oh, it does make me start “California dream’n” about returning back  to my native state. Mike and I had even purchased a second home with that prospect in mind but recently we put our place on the market and it sold within the first week. Looks like there are others with the same idea. We are now truly Arizonans, if not in spirit, in fact, much to my mother’s chagrin as she looked forward to our return. At my age, one thing I have learned is to NEVER say NEVER.

Today as I took my morning walk on the beach trail at North Beach I reflected on some of the reasons I love Southern California so much. Here on this typical morning of my retirement was the whole spectrum of reasons why this is a great place to live. (Keep in mind that I am in vacation mode!)

As I shared before the weather is mild and predictable with mostly sunny days. My first decision was where to have breakfast and I choose to go out and get my ‘cup of Joe’ at Ellie’s Table at North Beach,(click on their name for a fun video) a newer cafe, where I am becoming a regular. Then, on to the beach trail where I join up with a multitude of people of all shapes, ages, and personalities. The one common purpose seemed to be health and fitness. Whether a group of school kids walking with their teacher, the young mom pushing along a stroller, the buff ‘dude’ jogging with headphones, the elderly grandma strolling with a friend, the rotund middle-aged man walking his dog, they were all enjoying the outdoors! There were people playing volleyball, surfers catching waves, people running or biking which all inspired me to get outdoors and breath the ocean air!Diptic

So who was it that said, “Variety is the spice of life.” Well it is here in spades!  I could mentioned the number of options for shopping and restaurants… Actually I will save that for a future post as today my focus was on how much I enjoyed feeling my body move, but more than that is the awareness that there were so many others sharing the experience with me!

This entry was posted in Home and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Back in San Clemente

  1. susieant says:

    Looking forward to spending a day in the Sun with you and Bobbie. Until then I will continue walking in the desert in the early mornings. Took a short walk by Silverwood Lake today.

Leave a Reply

