Sixty-five and counting…

Holy. Cow. I never thought, nor imagined I would be celebrating this birthday and yet here I am!! 65, and what a birthday. Thanks to my loving husband who always takes care of me and has made this a special Hawaiian vacation with all the bells and whistles! We always manage to have an amazing time in the islands and this is no exception.photo

The first couple of days I was actually on my own because he had job-site visits (this was originally a work trip) but then the weekend was ours. I had no objection to finding things to occupy Thursday and Friday. We rented a lovely house with views and in a quite neighborhood. I walked to the beach, found the local coffee shop, discovered the best places for dinner and I even managed to get lost on the second day with no water on me and I had to return back to the house before getting too dehydrated. I did put in my 3 to 4 miles of walking daily. Walking the sandy beach is one of my favorite things to do! I took naps to the ocean breezes, listened to my favorite audio books and had a manicure and pedicure! Even enjoyed some shopping at the local mall (Sephora, MAC, I am addicted). Not bad.photo

We had a memorable meal at the Food Company. We loved it so much we returned for a second night. We had BBQ on the deck one night and listened to the birds and then the rain, as a tropical storm came in that night. Glorious! Saturday we took a drive along the coast and languished on the beach at Wiamea with a picnic lunch of salmon, octopus salad and sandwiches from the local Foodland.  We also went shopping at the local Farmers Market for fruits and coconut. Nowhere to be… and no time tables… just going with the flow…

On Sunday we took a catamaran for sailing and snorkeling at KoOlina Resort/Marina. They normally take up to 40 people. We got very lucky and had a very new and beautiful vessel with only 11 of us! We swam with the dolphins, turtles and tropical fish! It was just right weather, a little overcast, so we did not get too sunburnt and it was not too hot, a PERFECT day! Then we came home and took a nap. Another BBQ and walking on the moonlit beach.

Today is our last day. It’s my actual birthday. Not sure what the day will bring but… BRING IT ON…It doesn’t feel so bad being 65 !!

This entry was posted in Home and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Sixty-five and counting…

  1. Mary says:

    You do get treated VERY well it seems! And I think you deserve it especially on your 65th. You are wearing it well. Safe travel home. Happy Birthday to you dear friend

  2. Rose says:

    Happy birthday! Looks like a great way to celebrate!

  3. How fabulous, Nilda … how special, memorable, and loving all. I’m taking Rusty out for her birthday tonight. She went to Ireland last year to celebrate 70. Tonight is dinner creekside at Ken’s! Love to you and Mike both. Glad he is making this so special for you. xoxoxR

  4. Maria says:

    Happy birthday!

    Sent from my Verizon Wireless 4G LTE smartphone

  5. kathy levin says:

    So happy that you are spending this special birthday in Hawaii! XOXOXO

  6. susieant says:

    Have a happy birthday cuz. That sounds amazing. You have been blessed. You look great too.

  7. Jo Berger says:

    Now that is the way to celebrate a birthday!!

Leave a Reply

