Living with Quilts

I have been a quilter for over 30 years now off and on. I first became interested in quilting when I was pregnant with my first son and lived in a small mountain community in California. Sewing was not something I felt confident about but with the help of some very enthusiastic friends I began. Soon I worked in a local shop and later spent some years teaching and giving classes to other interested women and even to young children. It is a very enjoyable, therapeutic craft for the maker and a great comfort and pleasure for the recipients of the quilts. I am so happy to begin working again in my studio after an absence of about 4 years.

This morning I took a few pictures of some quilts I’ve made and have at home. Most of my quilts have been made as gifts to friends and family or have been commissioned and sold. Going through my unfinished projects that have been sitting around for some time I should have several to share with you in the near future.

Note: I am thinking of working up a separate blog dedicated to quilts and quilters. I have a small group of friends whom I meet with regularly and that keep me inspired and they might like the idea of sharing stuff. I will keep you posted. Enjoy!

MY AMISH PEACE made for myself and all hand-quilted.

MY AMISH PEACE made for myself and all hand-quilted by me.

PINE TOPS log cabin (made for unpublished book)

PINE TOPS log cabin (made for unpublished book)

LOVE LETTERS made for my son David. (Notice the envelopes in the design)

LOVE LETTERS made for my son David. (Notice the envelopes in the design)

20131107-111031.jpg

NINE PATCH made for my son Michael.

This entry was posted in Home and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Living with Quilts

  1. Iris says:

    They are all very beautiful.

  2. Jo Berger says:

    Woot! Love those quilts…your artistry and your craftsmanship. I am so happy to see you return to your passion.

  3. kathy levin says:

    I love that you have taken these photos against different backdrops, texture and hints of color and context! Keep on quilting, girl!

Leave a Reply

