Return to Madrid!

IMG_2103How I have fallen in love with this city! While I love the old world feel of Sevilla, and the artistic splendors of Barcelona, there is something about Madrid that captures my soul. Mike and I have been here now four times and each time we find new things to see and experience.

We check into a fabulous small hotel in the Plaza Santa Ana, the Alicia, it is located exactly in the area we most frequent near the Puerta del Sol and you can walk to many sights in the city easily. We are greeted with an afternoon of perfect weather for walking and enjoying the day. We visit the Royal Palace and are duly impressed with the beautiful restorations and also with the adjoining Cathedral near by. We also make time to visit the Reina Sofia Museum which like the Prado, for me, is impossible to see in one day.

Remember my friend from the camino Isabella? Well, she had given me her info and at her suggestion I contacted her when we got to the city. We arranged  to meet up for dinner and she gave us tips and hints on what else was of interest in Madrid. We walked over to the La Latina area of central Madrid and had a bit to eat and drink. She graciously walked around with us and we strolled around this amazing city at night. Thank you Isabella for sharing more of Madrid with us , she is glorious and I hope to return!

True to form I forgot to take a picture of Isabella and me. So I share the one from the Camino and a few others of the city:

Isabella on the Camino de Santiago

Isabella on the Camino de Santiago

Best Tapas and Best Waiter Daniel

Best Tapas and Best Waiter Daniel

Favorite for Breakfast! Cosmen and Keiless Panaderia

Favorite for Breakfast! Cosmen and Keiless Panaderia

Best Tostas and Snacks too!

Best Tostas and Snacks too!

SANTA IGLESIA CATEDRAL DE SANTA MARÍA LA REAL DE LA ALMUDENA
SANTA IGLESIA CATEDRAL DE SANTA MARÍA LA REAL DE LA ALMUDENA

Autumn is here and the leaves are changing in the Park

Autumn is here and the leaves are changing in the Park

This entry was posted in Home. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Return to Madrid!

  1. Isabella says:

    Yes, what a shame not to get a photo together. I had such a lovely evening with you both. See you back in Madrid SOON!

  2. susieant says:

    You look great. Catch with you when you settle.

  3. Bobbie Surber - My Camino de Santiago says:

    I’m in Greer this weekend but available all of next week. I have been out of Sedona more than in Sedona after my return from Europe. Missing my Sedona hikes and the lovely Fall weather! You pick a date and time that works for you.

  4. Bobbie Surber - My Camino de Santiago says:

    You have seen and experienced so much of Madrid. I always found myself too tired and rushed to properly discover Madrid.
    And now home? How are you adjusting my dear friend?

Leave a Reply

