Walk to Sarria

I managed an 11 mile walk today after my rest day but the last few miles were with considerable discomfort. I am taking each day at a time and will be resting again tomorrow in Portomarin. The leg is not happy and may need more attention, I will re-evaluate on my next afternoon off.

The day was almost cold in the morning with the mist hanging on until mid-afternoon. More beautiful country! It is easy to see why there is so much regional pride as each part of the country has a specialness all it’s own. We arrive in the larger city of Sarria to discover most albergues and hotels were completp full! Another festival for yet another Virgin 😉
Angelica and Mark stayed in town. Susie and I were able to find a Pension just outside of town. Ready for some R&R!!

20130908-152619.jpg

20130908-152653.jpg

This entry was posted in Home. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Walk to Sarria

  1. I love all the pictures you’ve posted and your good attitude. Glad also you have Bobbie’s perspective to help support you. You are right about the paradoxes, but they are not just of the Camino but of all life – the joy and peace along with the pain. It’s all two sides of the same coin. Our prayers continue state-side for the healing of your leg. Be well. With love.

    • nildarcook says:

      Yes Robin. Just when I start wishing my leg was well I accept what is and the lesson reveals itself. How easy it sometimes is for my “nine” tendencies to conceal the truth when on the trail it is impossible to hide from it. Lesson learn once again!

      Sent from my iPhone

  2. Anna Escamilla says:

    Hang in there. You are doing awesome. Beautiful pictures and blog. Enjoy the journey.

  3. Bobbie Surber - My Camino de Santiago says:

    Sarria! Only a100km to go to Santiago! My dear Nilda I’m so glad to know you are listening to your heart and body… Taking the breaks to allow your leg to heal. You are in my prayers as is Susie. Buen Camino!
    Bobbie

    • nildarcook says:

      Thanks for the encouragements and prayers. It had been very disruptive to my well-being to have all this pain along side so much peace. Such are the paradoxes of the Camino !!

      • Bobbie Surber - My Camino de Santiago says:

        Pain both physical and mental is to be expected on the Camino. The joy is found afterwards when you reflect on how well you dealt with the pain
        and the lessons learned. In the meantime let Anti inflammatory drugs and Vino Tinto be your best friends 🙂

Leave a Reply

