Contemplating the journey ahead…

I have a doctor’s appointment today to get antibiotics in case I get a virus on the trail, a sleeping-aid RX to help me with any nights where I experience my usual insomnia (although Linda assures me that I will be so exhausted I will sleep like a baby), Benadryl for allergy symptoms (in case of bedbug bites), refills for my thyroid and hormone prescriptions and any last-ditch advice she may have for me on staying healthy along my way. This was all important to me to ensure my physical comfort and nurturing. Along with this line of thinking my bigger concern is getting bedbug bites along the way! This is a huge risk you take (mostly if you have an allergic reaction to them) and while I know most people don’t get them and I would rather not even think of it one cannot neglect the need for taking some precautions. If you want to know more you can link to this webpage, but I warn you this is not pretty!

Aside from those concerns I am just contemplating leaving the luxuries of my life behind, taking as few possessions as possible and carrying them on my back, doing this most physically challenging thing at my age, and immerse myself in this journey. I have talked long and hard to myself about letting go of expectations and going with what God presents. I am focusing on just nurturing myself, discovering what it means to grow stronger both spiritually and physically and accepting that the ‘destination’ may not come with the end of this journey but the larger one of my life. Quieting all the day-to-day distractions of my life by setting this time aside for more than introspection but for reflection on my relationship with all those God has place in my path and especially with God himself (or herself) 🙂 Lastly, I want you to know that each day of my daily walk I will be dedicated to my friends and family in prayers and with thanksgiving!

I did not walk this morning but went out into my backyard and was blessed to see the green grass covered with raindrops, cool and sparkling fresh with dew! I’ll take it as a sign of the inner journey as I know the actual weather in Spain will be very hot, maybe humid and challenging! Buen Camino to all!! Thanks for all your kind words and encouragements!

This entry was posted in Home. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Contemplating the journey ahead…

  1. Sharon Angelo says:

    Godspeed to you Nilda! I am sending loving thoughts your way that this journey is all you hope it to be and much much more.

  2. myrna says:

    Nilda you look fabulous both inside and out!
    You are quite eloquent and I have enjoyed your posts.
    I am so jealous 🙂 you are inspiring.
    Be safe, be well, enjoy, may Father God protect and guide you
    Amen y amen

    • nildarcook says:

      Thanks Myrna. I don’t get alot of feedback on my blog which is disappointing sometimes so when I do it means all that much more! I send you a big hug and will keep you and your kids in the heart and prayers. We expect to have a Buen Camino indeed!!

  3. Rose says:

    Nilda, you will be fine. Just enjoy the journey and remember…..you can always go home.

    • nildarcook says:

      Maybe not , maybe just a taxi to a nice hotel & a hot bath he,he!! Really we are so prepared unless something extraordinary happens we will come thru it with flying colors!!! Thanks for your support!

Leave a Reply

