Family

We are blessed in and with this life we have been given. One way or another we can each count daily blessings large and small. I have shared many of my own blessings on numerous of my posts on this blog. Greatest of these being my family. I come from a very large family with aunts and uncles, and cousins living far and wide across this country and in Puerto Rico.

One of my most cherished memories of family is growing up with my mother’s six sisters surrounding me as a young girl. They have helped to form the woman I have become.  Each one of my “tias” is very special to me. (I was also blessed to have six tias on my father’s side of the family whom I love dearly) So many beautiful women in my life! I can remember moments with each of them as a young girl and teenager. Moments where they had an influence on me or helped me get though the roughest of days. It would have been very difficult to have survived without their love and support and example.

This week our family suffered a loss as the eldest of my mom’s six sisters Maria (Fela) Irrizary passed away at the age of 92. She was and is dearly loved by this family. We are reconciled to her loss even though it does not make it any easier. I am not prepared to share more about her at this moment but just to say that I saw her as a very strong woman, one who raised 5 kids of her own. She was someone with whom I always felt special and loved. I will miss her strong opinions, her sense of humor, her advice and her courage. Her life mattered to me, may her journey now be one of beauty and peace…Te quiero mucho, tia!

Tia Fela

Tia Fela

This entry was posted in Home. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Family

  1. Maria Picetti says:

    Thank you, Nilda, for sharing your thoughts; they captured her essence. You should have given the eulogy!

    • nildarcook says:

      I do wish I had shared something of what she meant to me. At the time it did not seem appropriate to step forward. Sorry I didn’t . Blessing to you all!

  2. Rose says:

    I am so sorry for your loss Nilda. I too have a Aunt who is 95 and I cherish her. Sounds like you had lot’s of quality time with your Aunt and will have many good memories.

  3. Carmen Maldonado says:

    I am so proud to have a daughter like you, I am not very fluent telling what you mean to me, but God knows how much I love you, i will miss my sister, but now she is in a better place resting, she was a great human been.

  4. susieant says:

    I agree on all counts. Gary and I were blessed to spend time with her in the last years of her life. Such a sense of humor.

  5. Juana Montanez says:

    Could’nt have said it better

  6. myrna maldonado says:

    Amen y amen

Leave a Reply

