Agave americana

…is the misnamed century plant. Typically one lives only 10 to 30 years. A succulent, when it flowers, the spike with a cyme of big yellow flowers may reach up to 8 m (26 ft) in height. Its common name likely derives from its semelparous nature of flowering only once at the end of its long life. The plant dies after flowering, but produces suckers or shoots from the base, which continue its growth. You can learn more at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Agave_americana

Today on my 5 mile hike I was rewarded at the start of the Jordan Trail with this beautiful speciman of the Century Plant. It has become one of my favorite desert plants and I have shared pictures of them often. This is the largest one I have ever seen and it was right in front of my path. A beautiful surprise, with it’s bright neon colors, as I turned onto the path. (It stands almost as tall as the tree behind it.) I thought you might like to know a little more about it so I share this post and some more pictures. Enjoy!

Century Plant on Jordan Trail

Century Plant on Jordan Trail

This entry was posted in Home. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Agave americana

  1. Carmen Maldonado says:

    God Bless you my dear, keep enjoying yourself and good luck on your trip, love you, take care.

  2. Juana Montanez says:

    A reminder of God

  3. susieant says:

    Love our desert plants. Nice collage.

Leave a Reply

