Why the Camino?

On my first time in Spain.

On my first time in Spain.

Why the Camino de Santiago? I asked myself the same question. I had always enjoyed hiking in my 30’s but had become out of shape in mid-life and never really considered I could or would do anything as physically challenging. As I shared on my ABOUT page this journey was inspired by three female friends, three woman whom I love and admire. But what exactly resonated with me upon hearing them share their journeys I cannot say exactly. What I know for sure is that I have a feeling of being called to be on these trails, that this is an inner and outer journey and that it’s requiring a leap of faith.

My roots are in this country. While my immediate family comes from Puerto Rico, my ancestors came from Spain. I felt a connection here from my very first visit. Maybe this is just the beginning of something deeper? Maybe I will want to return again? I hope for an awakening but maybe it will remain a mystery? Each step will bring me nearer to an answer, of that I am sure.

This entry was posted in Home and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Why the Camino?

  1. Tove says:

    Hi Nilda, Sounds like such a great trip! You look great! at least 10 years younger!
    can’t wait to hear more about it when you come out.
    Tove

Leave a Reply

